PDA

View Full Version : Calling Laundry Pros

linanglab
09-15-2007, 09:11 AM
My whites are a lovely shade of faint yellow....How do you get your whites REALLY white? I use bleach. Is there something else that I should use? I do not use hot water though. I always use cold water to help with the lowering of our utilites. Any help would be great. I hate my whites looking so dingy.

Angela

bartleby1
09-15-2007, 09:39 AM
Well, I'm no laundry expert and my whites look yellow too, but I do remember reading somewhere that bleach actually causes the yellowed look on certain materials. :confused: I won't give up my bleach since I'm a bit of a germaphobe though!

m 'n c
09-15-2007, 09:40 AM
I just use All and wash them on cold and they are still white. Mike refuses to let me put anything other than white items with the whites (I am use to putting in khakis) as they cause whites to look dingy. I never use bleach.

spring
09-15-2007, 09:47 AM
I rarely use bleach and my whites look fine. If I have a stain on a white piece of clothing, I use a spot cleaner or a clorox bleach pen on just the stain itself. I think using bleach all the time is not good for the fabrics.

linanglab
09-15-2007, 09:55 AM
Interesting. I though bleach was suppose to get whites whiter. Maybe I will only use bleach when I need to degermify some things and see how it goes.

Angela

bartleby1
09-15-2007, 10:43 AM
Oh, forgot to mention that yellowing of your whites could also be caused by your water if you have a high iron or mineral content (really hard water). I know that my town has high iron and high manganese which can both cause brownish/yellowish staining of clothes, toilets, etc.

sammielynn
09-15-2007, 11:00 AM
Try one of those Oxygen cleaners in with your whites. I think Tide has a detergent just for whites that works well.

linanglab
09-15-2007, 11:26 AM