Thread: I have to brag....

Default I have to brag....

I have never been an avid bike rider. A few years ago, while my DD's were "small" (ages 2 and 4), I started riding my bike to run errands, pulling them both in the bike trailer. We'd ride to the grocery store and the bank, which are both about a mile from our house.

Now, DD7 rides her own bike, but I still pull DD4 in the trailer...all 45 pounds of her. The longest ride she's done was to the Target by our house which is about a 3 mile ride, round trip.

This past Saturday, DD7 surprised and motivated me. That little girl, all 55 pounds of her, rode her bike all the way to Grandma and Grandpa's house....5.5 miles away! Then, after about a 30 minute visit, she turned around and rode back home. ELEVEN MILES round-trip that girl did! As exhausted as I was, riding behind her pulling the trailer with DD4, there was no way I was going to complain.

Yesterday, we bought her a new helmet (hers fits fine, but DD4 needed a new one so she got the hand-me-down) and some bike gloves as an incentive and reward. She rode her bike a total of almost 11 miles yesterday too. We rode about 4.5 miles to/from the bike shop and then later on, we took the trail from grandma's house to the park which is a little over 3 miles each way.

Even though it has been so hot and humid here, I am so motivated by my little girl. I have been doing great on my diet to lose some weight, but exercise has never been my strong suit. I find it difficult to get myself motivated, but now, it is so much easier. I told her that we are taking our bikes to HHI next spring so she has to practice riding everywhere. I don't think she needs nearly as much training as I do!

Now, if we can get DD4 off her training wheels, I will not have to pull an extra 45 pounds behind me.

That is great. Good for all of you!